Wednesday, 19 February 2014

The First Round of Reviews for Porcelain

Released 20th March
It seems I made the appropriate sacrifices to the Criticism Gods –

Upcoming4me says ‘The Boy with the Porcelain Blade packs a lot of punch and is extremely well written in an excellent literary style which is sadly often absent in modern fantasy... The Boy with the Porcelain Blade is a rich, literary fantasy thriller which bodes well for the rest of the series.’

The Curiosity of a Social Misfit wrote ‘The characters are fantastically created here. They feel complete and have multiple layers. I also liked the fact that they're not perfect... Here, there are loads of moments where it feels like the characters won't win, in fact, it feels like the characters won't even make it to the end of the book alive. I loved that feeling of being uncertain about their fates.’

The folks over at The Book Worm (@RadioBookWorm) discuss the book on their podcast. They described Porcelain as ‘OM NOM NOM NOM’ which is probably about as high a watermark as a debut author could wish for. I’ve also recorded an interview with these folks, which I suspect will be online in a few weeks.

Sci Fi Now gave the book a pleasing 4/5, describing the novel as ‘A thriller set in grotesque caricature of Renaissance Italy, The Boy With The Porcelain Blade will appeal to fans of Robin Hobb, Scott Lynch and Jon Courtenay Grimwood. Patrick’s writing is rich with detail, describing the intricacies of every finely-tailored doublet and the extent of every ruined battlement. This ornate style fits perfectly with the baroque setting, while fast-paced plotting ensures it doesn’t become a slog to read.’

Beer, Books and Browncoats were equally engaged – ‘Never before have I felt so truly behind a character as I did with Lucien. He is scarred, tormented, bullied and oppressed by the strange society he was born in, but he remains honest. Lucien is not the typical good character amidst a world of evil; he is flawed, violent and reckless but his belief in justice stays true.’


I feel extremely fortunate that people have warmed to the book. Those of you already clamouring for the sequel can rest assured it’s well on the way, currently due January 2015.

Meanwhile, over at Goodreads, there's a giveaway by my publisher, Gollancz. Enter your details HERE.


No comments:

Post a Comment